Plenary Speakers

  • Prof. Eva Nogales

    University of California Berkeley (USA)

  • Prof. Álvaro Sánchez

    Institute for Functional Biology & Genomics, CSIC-University of Salamanca, Spain

Prof. Eva Nogales

University of California Berkeley (USA)

Short bio: Eva Nogales is a Distinguished Professor in Molecular and Cell Biology at the University of California, Berkeley. She studied physics at the Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, did her doctorate in biophysics at the University of Keele, UK, and carried out her postdoctoral work at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). She joined the University of California, Berkeley in 1998 and has been a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator since 2000. She is also a Senior Faculty Scientist at LBNL. Nogales is an elected member of the National Academy of Sciences of the USA and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and foreign member the Real Academia de Ciencias de España. In 2020 she served as President of ASCB. In 2023 she received the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine.

Prof. Álvaro Sánchez

Institute for Functional Biology & Genomics, CSIC-University of Salamanca, Spain

Short Bio: Alvaro went to college in Madrid, obtaining an undergraduate degree in theoretical physics. He then moved to the USA, where he did his doctoral and postdoctoral training in Biophysics and Evolutionary Systems Biology at Brandeis and MIT. In 2013 he started his own group as a Rowland Fellow at Harvard. He moved the lab to Yale in 2016 as an Assistant Professor of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, and was promoted to Associate Professor in 2021. He moved back to Spain in 2022 as a group leader first at CNB-CSIC and then at IBFG. He’s received multiple grants and awards, including an ERC CoG, a Packard Fellowship, an NIH MIRA award and an HFSP grant.

Invited Speakers

Prof. Fabio Fernandes

Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisboa, Portugal

Prof. Dr. Pierre-François Lenne

Aix-Marseille University, France

Prof. Xavier Salvatella

Institute for Research in Biomedicine (IRB), Spain

Dr. Yann Fichou

University of Bordeaux, France

Prof. Israel S. Fernández

Biofisika Institute (CSIC, UPV/EHU), Spain

Dr. Sandra Ribeiro Macedo

Biomolecular Structure & function Group Leader, IS3, Porto, Portugal

Dr. Guillaume Stirnemann

Laboratoire de Biochimie Theórique, UPR 9080 CNRS, Institut de Biologoe Physico-Chimique, Paris, France

Dr. Silvia Osuna

Researcher at the Institute of Computational Chemistry and Catalysis (IQCC), at University of Girona, Spain

Dr. Etienne Dague

Université de Toulouse, France

Dr. Nicoletta Liguori

Group Leader of Photon Harvesting in Plants and Biomolecules Group, ICFO, Spain

Dr. Alice Pyne

University of Sheffield, UK

Dr Pierre Barraud

Institut de Biologie Physico-Chimique, (IBPC), CNRS-Université Paris Cité, Paris, France

Dr. Mohit Kumar

University of Barcelona, Institute for Bioengineering of Catalonia (IBEC), Spain

Prof. Mariana Medina Sánchez

Ikerbasque – Group Leader at CIC nanoGUNE, Spain

Dr. Graça Soveral

Group Leader, iMed.ULisboa, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Prof. Dr. Felix Rico

Aix-Marseille University & INSERM, France

Dr. Marie Victoire Neguembor

Center for Genomic Regulation (CRG), Barcelona, Spain

Prof. Dr. Francesc Sagues

University of Barcelona, Spain

Prof. Dr. Jean-Christophe Baret

IUniversity of Bordeaux, CRPP, UMR 5031, Pessac, France

Dr. Soledad Celej

Sociedad de Biofísica de Argentina

Dr. Cécile Breyton

Institut de Biologie Structurale, Grenoble, France